Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Friday, March 18, 2011

Drama League Will Honor ~ Liza Minnelli, Whoopi Goldberg, Susan Stroman
By Andrew Gans

17 Mar 2011
The Drama League has announced the recipients of its 2011 Special Recognitions, which will be presented along with its five competitive production and performance awards at The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon May 20 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel.

Whoopi Goldberg will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award, Liza Minnelli will be honored with the Distinguished Acheivement in Musical Theatre Award, and Susan Stroman will receive the Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing.

As previously announced, the annual ceremony will be hosted by Academy Award nominee Kathleen Turner, who returns to Broadway this spring in Matthew Lombardo's new drama, High.

The event, which begins at noon, pays tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais. The dais will feature more than 50 stars from the 2010-11 Broadway and Off-Broadway season.

In addition to The Distinguished Performance Award and the Special Recognitions, The Drama League's 3,000 members vote on four other annual competitive awards: Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play and Distinguished Revival of a Musical.

Nominations for these five awards will be announced April 25.

Tickets for The 77th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon are now available by calling (212) 244-9494.

For more information visit

The Drama League was founded in 1916 as an association of theatre professionals and patrons dedicated to encouraging the finest in professional theatre and has since then developed into the theatre's premiere service organization.

No comments: