Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Saturday, May 21, 2011

Drama League Award Winners Are Announced
By: Dan Bacalzo · May 20, 2011 · New York

The 77th Annual Drama League Awards were presented at a ceremony and luncheon, held on Friday, May 20 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel. Kathleen Turner served as host.

The Book of Mormon won for Distinguished Production of a Musical, while the award for Distinguished Production of a Play was given to War Horse.

The Normal Heart was honored with the award for Distinguished Revival of a Play, with Distinguished Revival of a Musical being given to Anything Goes.

Mark Rylance was given the Distinguished Performance Award for his work in both Jerusalem and La Bete.

Non-competitive awards were also handed out to Susan Stroman, who received The Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing; Whoopi Goldberg, who was given the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award; and Liza Minnelli, who received the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award.

Presenters included Douglas Aibel, Brian Bedford, Josh Gad, James Earl Jones, John Kander, Patina Miller, Daniel Radcliffe, Andrew Rannells, and Robin Williams.

No comments: