Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Liza Minnelli Stepping Out! 2015

Monday, February 9, 2009

Minnelli, Fey, Winslet, Letterman, Rourke and Fernandez Win ITRA Awards

Winners of the 2009 Independent Theatre Reviewers Association (ITRA) Awards have been announced.
Six artists in three categories — film, television and theatre — have been selected for 2009. The honorees, according to press notes, "embody the essence of not only artistic integrity, but also complete dedication to their craft."
This year's ITRA Award winners follow:

Mickey Rourke, Best Actor in a Feature Film, "The Wrestler" (Fox/Searchlight Pictures), "for his powerful and honest portrayal. This is a great comeback from a great American actor."

Kate Winslet, Best Actress in a Feature Film, "Revolutionary Road" (DreamWorks Pictures/Paramont Vantage), "for her profound and beautiful work."

Tina Fey, Best Performance in a Television Series or Variety Show (Female), "3 0 Rock" and "Saturday Night Live" (NBC), for "terrific comedic performances and biggest career explosion of the year."

David Letterman, Best Performance in a Television Series or Variety Show (Male), "Late Night with David Lettermen" (CBS), "for his continued success and longevity."

Liza Minnelli, Best Performance Theatrical (Female), Liza's At The Palace (Palace Theatre, NYC; John Scher/Metropolitan Talent Presents), "for a lifetime of art and heartache, and most importantly survival... a legend returns to Broadway!"

Lucio Fernandez, Best Performance Theatrical (Male), "The Cuban Kid in concert" (Don't Tell Mama, NYC), "for an electrifying performance in cabaret. This newcomer came out of nowhere to surprise us."

Independent Theatre Reviewers Association is "dedicated to reviewing professional theatre in the tri-state metropolitan area." For more information visit

No comments: